Pre-1925 the Springbank were known as the Wallace Rovers, and wore the colours of black and white in the Bungaree Association. Players were drawn from a seven-mile radius and were coached by Paddy Ryan. Games were played in Keighrey’s Paddock.

1932 – we joined the Creswick Associated along with Creswick Rovers, Dean, Allendale, Clunes and Springmount. This resulted in the colours being changed to yellow and black.

1934 – the team went into recess and was reformed in 1938.

1939 – Springbank beat Gordon at Buninyong to claim our first premiership under George Collis as coach.

1940 – Springbank beat Gordon at Bungaree to win back to back flags. Jack Shearer* was coach.

From 1941-1945 the team went into recess because of WW2

1946 – the team was reformed and went on to become premiers, beating Dunnstown at Bungaree.

1948 – Harry Lamb coached our fourth premiership side, beating Bungaree.

1950 – the side go into recess for a third time.

1962 – the side was reformed and competed in the Clunes League which was consisted of Bungaree, Clunes, Creswick, Korweinguboora, Hepburn, Learmonth, Newlyn.

1963 – the side made the preliminary final against Korweinguboora. Holding the lead at quarter time 7.0 to nil, only to be outstayed by Korweinguboora who won by 4 points.

1964 – saw former East Ballarat rover Vally Pascoe appointed as coach. He went on to coach the team to four successive premierships from 1964-1967.

1965 – a time keepers box and shed were erected for the players as change rooms, with facilities for hot showers.

1966 – an under 17’s team was formed, becoming a two-team club. Ronny Rix was the coach and more than half the team went on to play senior football with the club. Brian Blood won the league goal kicking award.

1967 – Springbank won a fourth successive premiership breaking a long-standing record previously held by Smeaton. Stephen Toohey won the first of a hatrick of wins in the CDFL underage Best and Fairest awards. Leo ‘Shorty’ Kane tied with Hepburn’s Peter Pedretti for the League’s Best and Fairest award.

1968 – was the end of an era with Vally Pascoe stepping down as coach. Former Redan player John Brayshaw not only took over as coach, but lead us to our fifth successive premiership. Our juniors made the finals for first time and a under 14’s side was also formed, playing a number of social games.

1969 – the senior team failed to make finals, although the under 17 side did. After leading going into time on they failed to hold off Creswick to go down by 6 points. The under 14’s continued to play social games.

1970 – the competition was changed to introduce a Reserves team and the under 14’s competition was officially registered. The senior team suffered a semi final loss. This was to be Des ‘Doc’ Kane’s last game.

1972 – there was a premiership under David Davidson as coach. After being down by 32 points early in the third term of the game, the margin was reduced to just a 2 point lead to Bungaree with seconds remaining. From the kick in, Springbank took the ball forward where Stephen Toohey goaled. The reserves side also made finals and the under 14s competition was raised to under 16s. A final five was introduced with Wendouree becoming the 10th team. Gerard White won the league under 16s Best and Fairest.

1973 – the clubs first Life Memberships were awarded to Arthur Yates, Joe Duggan and Jack Shearer.

1974 – the reserves lost the Grand Final to Wendouree. Chris Sheahan won the league goal kicking award.

1975 – Chris Sheahan shared the league goal kicking award

1976 – Seniors lost Grand Final to Bungaree

1977 – Chris Sheahan won League goal kicking Award

1978 – The Clunes League was disbanded at the end of the year. Chris Sheahan went back-to-back in the goal kicking Award for a second time

1979 – Springbank joined the Central Highlands Football League which was a merge of the Clunes FL and the Ballarat Bacchus Marsh FL. Andy Duke won the League Under Age Best and Fairest.

1981 – Peter Muller won the league Best and Fairest Award. Springbank lost a High Scoring Grand Final to Ballan who were Premiers and Champions that year.

1990 – Springbank beat Newlyn to win our first C.H.F.L. Grand Final.

1992 – Springbank Reserves beat Bungaree to win the premiership.

1993 – Springbank Reserves went back to back beating Wendouree to win the premiership.

1996 – The Football and Netball Club merged to become one incorporated body.

2000 – After 10 lean years, we defeated Clunes in the Grand Final.  James Hall won the Geoff Taylor medal as league best and fairest.

2001 – We went back to back with a win over Buninyong. Lenny Quinlan won the League Reserves Best and Fairest.

2004 – A grade netball won the premiership, defeating Waubra.

2006 – A grade netball won the premiership, defeating Bungaree.

2007 – A grade netball won the premiership, defeating Bungaree.

2008 – A grade netball won the premiership, defeating Hepburn. Senior football side failed to win a game.

2010 – Dean Romeril and Joe Carmody were joint coaches.

2011 – Dean Romeril was stand-alone coach. Senior team finished in 10th position.

2012 – Redan multi-premiership play and BFL interleague representative Sam Giblett took over as coach. Under 18s won the premiership under Mick Rix. A grade netball won the premiership, defeating Hepburn.

2013 – Former Australian netball team representatives, Garth and Cynna Kydd were appointed as coaches of the senior netball squad. A grade netball won the premiership, defeating Dunnstown. B Grade Netball also won this day as well as our U15 Netballers it was a great day on the courts.

2014 – After finishing sixth on the ladder we progressed to the Grand Final, only to be defeated by Bungaree. Luke Fisher won the Geoff Taylor medal as league Best and Fairest. Sam Giblett stood down as coach.

2015 – Former premiership player Terry Simpson was appointed coach and took the team to a premiership over arch rivals Gordon. Young star Joel Maher won the best on ground medal. Reserves side were defeated in a preliminary final. A grade netball won the premiership, defeating Learmonth for the second time in three years.

2016 – Nick Couch and Michael Searl were appointed joint coaches of the senior side and Dean Romeril was coach of the reserves. Both the senior and reserves side won the premiership. Paul McMahon won the league goal kicking and best on ground medal in grand final for the senior team, with Lochlan Douglas winning the medal in the reserves. A and B Grade Netball were both runners up.

2017 – Michael Searl was stand-alone coach. Senior team were defeated by Beaufort in the preliminary final. Reserves failed to make finals. Under 18s were defeated by Hepburn in the Grand Final. Under 15s delivered the clubs first premiership for that grade under coaches Leo Simpson and Cam Rix.

A and B grade netball also won the premiership. Cynna Kydd won the best on court medal in A grade and Samantha Couch in B grade. Michael Searl stood down as coach.

2018 – Troy Beamond was appointed as senior coach.

2019 –

2020 – 

2021 – 

2022-  U/18 Premiership as well as  Reserves Premiership. Whilst the seniors were thrilled to make the GF at MARS Stadium  it was Gordons year.

2023 – current season please send us any of your amazing  football & netball photos of any past or present Tigers  into email address springbank100years@gmail.com


Our Sponsors for 2022

Buy Membership